Sat-Sampati (Six Treasures)

Sampati means treasure. A person on the path to liberation in Jnana Yoga needs to "acquire" the following six "treasures."

1. Sama

While in Satsanga (in the context of this website, listening to any PODCAST is Satsanga) not thinking about the sense-objects is known as "Sama." Satsanga means the "sanga" or the company of "Sat" or truth. Traditionally, Satsanga happens when you are with someone who is likeminded in his or her quest to know the truth. Discussing the meaning of holy scriptures is also considered Satsanga.

Sama is the practice of controlling the mind. Sama needs to be practiced first while in Satsanga, and then, ALWAYS. Sama is frequently translated as serenity of the mind.

2. Dama

While listening to the discourses on this portal, controlling the senses from going towards the sense-objects is "Dama." This is how you begin acquiring this treasure.

In due course, even while you are not listening to a podcast, you will be able to achieve control not only over your sense-organs, but also over your work-organs: hands, legs, mouth, the organ for procreation, the organ for excretion.

So, the broad definition of DAMA includes control over the five karmendriyas (or organs of action) and the five jnanendriyas (or sense-organs).

SAMA and DAMA go hand-in-hand. 

3. Uparati

Not letting the mind (and the sense and work organs) get distracted, while listening to the PODCAST, is how you can practice UPARATI. It means extreme dissociation from the sense objects while doing SRAVANA. Eventually, you can practice UPARATI even while doing MANANA and NIDIDHYASANA.

Note: If you want to practice BRAHMACHARYA or celibacy, you need to practice SAMA, DAMA, and UPARATI together, day and night. This practice can be done for a month, for a year, or for 12 years

4. Titiksha

Titiksha is a Sanskrit word and can be translated as endurance plus forbearance combined. Staying power is another way to put it. During your quest for knowledge as a prelude to freedom, there will be many people who will try to pull you down to your level. You have to persevere in your "Sadhana" or practice, nontheless. The later discourses on the Ashtavakara Gita are full of explanations on the Sat-Sampatti, including audio explanations of Titiksha. If you don't have staying power, you can't acquire "Brahma Jnana" or the Knowledge of Brahman.

5. Shraddha

As per Brahmavid Sam Yogi, it has 3 components: faith in "Sat-Shastra" or the True-Scriptures, faith in your Spiritual Teacher, and faith in yourself.

You can consider Ashtavakra to be your spiritual teacher while listening to the discourses on Ashtavakra Gita. Similarly, if you are listening to the Katha Upanishad discourses, you can consider Lord Yama (or the God of Death) to be your teacher.

6. Samadhana

This corresponds to the one-pointedness of mind towards learning about Atman (the true nature of the SOUL) or Brahman (the true nature of GOD). In non-dual Vedanta, SOUL is GOD (or part thereof). In dualistic (or devotional) Yoga, SOUL (or Jeeva) can be thought of as a servant of GOD (or Brahman).