"I have read many arguments against the Bhagavad-Gita, and many have said that without motives you cannot work. They have never seen unselfish work except under the influence of fanaticism, and therefore they speak in that way."

--- Swami  Vivekananda

Naaraayanah Paroavyaktaat Andamavyayasambhavam!
Andasyaantastwime Lokaah Saptadveepaa cha Medinee!!

The above Sanskrit hymn to Lord Narayana is recited as follows:

<link coming soon>

Its transliteration is:

Lord Narayana is the Para or Param. He is Avyakta or Unmanifest. He is the Great Egg from whom the seven worlds or or Medinees or Lokas, including our Earth, are born.

Medinee means earth. This is our first Loka, also known as BHUH. The other six lokas are: BHUVAH, SVAH, MAHAT, JANAH, TAPAH, SATYA. Those of you who are familiar with the Gayatri Mantra know that the mantra mentions the first three of these seven worlds. These LOKAs or worlds are inside this great egg that is NARAYANA, the avyakta or unmanifest, in an unmanifest form before creation. The cosmic egg contains these worlds. They come out of this world in the beginning, and they have an end in the endless Absolute Sri Narayana. For our purposes, Narayana is synonymous with Brahman, Yah-weh, Father in Heaven, Ahur Mazda, Allah, Vahe Guru, Buddha, Jaina Mahavira, or any other deity you consider worthy of your worship. This verse, when it says that Narayana is avyakta or unmanifest, also refers to the fullness and endlessness aspects of God or Narayana. This shloka or hymn is important, Adi Shankara Acharya documents this prayer as the beginning of his commentary of the Srimad Bhagavad Gita.


This section of samyogi.com is where you will find samyogi's transliteration of the entire Adi Shankara Commentary of the Srmiad Bhagavad Gita from the Original Sanskrit. It is currently a work in progress.

If you are a westerner and are unfamiliar with KARMA and SRIMAD BHAGAVAD GITA, the following podcasts can serve as an introduction to the perennial philosophy.



Chapter 3 - Verses   1 to 10            Karma Yoga - Part 1 (65 minutes)

Chapter 3 - Verses   9 to 19            Karma Yoga - Part 2 (65 minutes)

Chapter 3 - Verses 20 to 28            Karma Yoga - Part 3 (66 minutes)

Chapter 3 - Verses 26 to 34            Karma Yoga - Part 4 (65 minutes)

Chapter 3 - Verses 35 to 43            Karma Yoga - Part 5 (66 minutes)


Chapter 4 - Verses   1 to 10            Jnana-Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part 1 (66 minutes)

Chapter 4 - Verses 11 to 20            Jnana-Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part 2 (65 minutes)

Chapter 4 - Verses 21 to 28            Jnana-Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part 3 (65 minutes)

Chapter 4 - Verses 29 to 37            Jnana-Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part 4 (65 minutes)

Chapter 4 - Verses 38 to 42            Jnana-Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part 5 (66 minutes)


Chapter 5 - Verses   1 to   5            Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part 1 (65 minutes)

Chapter 5 - Verses   6 to 10            Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part (66 minutes)

Chapter 5 - Verses 11 to 15            Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part (66 minutes)

Chapter 5 - Verses 16 to 22            Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part (66 minutes)

Chapter 5 - Verses 23 to 29            Karma-Samnyasa Yoga - Part (64 minutes)